76 drivers in six classes closed out the Red Dirt Raceway season with the running of the Mark Robinson Memorial

by John Rittenoure, MEEKER, Okla. (October 20, 2017) - A total of 76 race cars in six classes filled the pits for season ending 4th annual Mark Roberson Memorial that included everything from sprint cars to late models.

When the last checkered flag waved six drivers went home winners after some very competitive feature events.

Steven Shebester and Sheldon Barksdale kept the fans on the edge of their seats with a wheel-to-wheel duel in the wing sprint car feature.

Barksdale jumped past Shebester into the opening lap lead but could not shake Shebester who stayed right with the number 20S sprint car from Norman. At the half way point Barksdale and Shebester encountered lapped traffic and Shebester challenged Barksdale and took over the lead. Two laps later Barksdale challenged Shebester but could not make the pass and Shebester raced on to victory. In the closing laps Joe Wood, Jr. moved into second leaving Barksdale to settle for third.

The Sooner Late Models returned on Friday and Nate Jantz survived a mid-race battle with Dillon Rupe to pick up his first Late Model Series victory of the season with the touring series.

Jumping into the early lead, Jantz was chased in the early going by Rupe. Rupe drove past Steve Johnson for second on lap four and chased Jantz for the next seven laps until the yellow came out on lap 10. Rupe saw his opportunity on the restart and took away the lead. 

Rupe led for the next seven laps while Jantz had his hands full with Steven Hawkins who was trying to work his way toward the front.  On lap 16 Jantz got free of Hawkins and made a run at Rupe. Jantz took the lead away on the backstretch of lap 18 and this time he made it stick for the win. 

Rupe was holding down second until he went high in turn four of lap 21 allowing Hawkins to move into second. Off the final turn Eddie Tidwell pulled alongside of Hawkins and beat him to the finish line for the runner-up position. Rupe fell back to fourth at the finish and Mark Brill rounded out the top five. 

Late model driver Mark Harrison brought his sport modified out for the Mark Robinson Memorial and topped the 19-car main event leading all 20 laps. However there was no room for mistakes. Jared Baird gave chase from a car length back just waiting for an opportunity. However Harrison made no mistakes to win over Baird and Tanner Ridge who was a close third.

Scott Wilson and Chris Wilson battled in pure stock action with two other drivers in the early going in what was a tight race for the lead. By the midway point Scott and Chris had established themselves out front. At one point Chris got into the rear of Scott but the two continued with Scott winning over Chris. Curtis Baker and Brandon Givens followed in third and fourth.

Leroy Burger was the early leader in the mini stock feature leading the first nine laps before Kevin McSperritt caught up. The two ran side-by-side for the lead for three laps before McSperritt finally pulled out front for the win. Burger held on to second with Kellyville racer Josh Tyre in third.

The popular Dwarf Cars returned for one final night on the quarter-mile Red Dirt oval and Rob McQuary was the class of the field. McQuary led from start-to-finish winning over Chuck Briggs.

The season has come to a close at Red Dirt Raceway, but you can keep abreast of all the latest news by visiting Red Dirt Raceway on Facebook or on the web at RedDirtRaceway.com.


Red Dirt Raceway Results - October 20, 2017

Sooner Late Model A Feature - 1, Nate Jantz. 2, Eddie Tidwell. 3, Steven Hawkins. 4, Dillon Rupe. 5, Mark Brill. 6, Steve Johnson. 7, Wayne Bush. 8, Ritchie Burcik. 9, Eric Brill. 10, Jason Redman.

Wing Sprint Car A Feature - 1, Steven Shebester. 2, Joe Wood, Jr. 3, Sheldon Barksdale. 4, Matt Moore. 5, Ryan Dean. 6, Shayla Waddell. 7, Jaden Laden, 8, Mike Scott. 9, Justin Mowry. 10, Jayden Hughes. 11, Shawn Wicker. 12, David McDuffy. 13, Dwayne Forgren. 14, Perry Pickard. 15, Loyd Clevenger.

Sport Mod A Feature - 1, Mark Harrison, 2, Jared Baird. 3, Tanner Ridge. 4, Jeffrey Karp. 5, Zach Nickell. 6, Chris Wilhite, 7, Jeff Rozelle. 8, Travis Penrod. 9, Steve Little, 10, Steve Robinson. 11, Glenn Wiley. 12, Luke Leatherman, 13, Chase Vineyard. 14, Steve Clemmons. 15, Anthony Hicks. 16, Austin Griggs. 17, Jared Nickell, 18, Glenn Chapa. 19, Allan Beatty.

Mini Stock A Feature - 1, Kevin McSperritt. 2, Leroy Burger. 3, Josh Tyre. 4, Jay Baggett. 5, Dillan Randall. 6, Justin Melton, 7, Lloyd Buntin. 8, Jerry Higgins. 9, Brian Ward. 10, Wesley Knebel, 11, Jim Higgins, 12, Justin Ford.

Pure Stock A Feature - 1, Scott Wilson. 2, Chris Wilson. 3, Curtis Baker. 4, Brandon Givens. 5, Shawn Brownlee. 6, Scott Donnell 7, Mike Greenleaf. 8, Chris Lee. 9, Robby Kintz. 10, Rustin Johnson. 11, Robert Schulster. 12, Johnathon Jarvis.

Dwarf Car A Feature - 1, Paul York. 2, Jason Miles. 3, Larry Pense. 4, Rob McQuary. 5, Chuck Briggs. 6, Rex Johnson 7, Mike Howard. 8, Paul Kasuman.