Barksdale repeats at Humboldt Speedway

He won the last Ameri-Flex / OCRS event at Humboldt in 2016

By John Rittenoure, OCRS PR

HUMBOLDT, Kansas (May 17, 2019) - Sheldon Barksdale has fond memories of Humboldt Speedway. 

The last time the Ameri-Flex / OCRS Sprint Car Series visited the Southern Kansas racetrack was 2016 and Barksdale remembers it as if it was yesterday. He raced to a victory on that summer night in June and went on to rack up seven victories on the season. 

Friday night Barksdale returned to Humboldt and returned to victory lane in his Barksdale Overhead Door sponsored sprinter. 

"This place has been really been good to us," Barksdale recalled thinking back to that first visit. "First time we came here and got that win then come here for the second time and go two-for-two. You always remember that first win at a certain racetrack." 

When Barksdale knew he was returning to Humboldt he thought back to that race. 

"We keep a notebook and just remember stuff," he said. 

It obviously paid off. Barksdale starting outside front row next to Alex Sewell but found himself running third behind Sewell and Shane Sellers in the early going. Barksdale was able to get around Sellers for second on lap four only to give it back on lap six. Sellers shot around Sewell for the lead on lap seven and Barksdale battled past Sewell for second on lap eight. Finally, on lap 13 Barksdale found his way around Sellers for the lead.

From that point on Barksdale had his hands full keeping the lead after Sewell passed Sellers for second and closed in.   

"It was kind of dicey out there between me, Shane Sellers and Alex Sewell," Barksdale said. "I knew I had to get in front of those guys while we were still back and forth.  

"We got the lead there then had a red flag. It got really tight after that red flag and our tire pressures were down. I knew I had to keep the car on the bottom as good as I could. As long as kept it down there, no matter how slow I was going I knew there were not going to get by me. 

"I had to be patient and conservative. That is what got us the win tonight." 

The memory of a close race with Sewell last month at Caney Valley Speedway was still on Barksdale's mind. 

"I knew Sewell was going to be right there and you can't put anything past him," Barksdale recalled. "I lost the race to him a couple of weeks ago at Caney and I learned my lesson. If I gave the bottom up he would have taken advantage.

If this win is any like the one in 2016, Barksdale might be in for a banner season. 

"I think it has been about a year since we won," he said. "Maybe we can build off this win and click some more off." 

When the checkered waved after 30 laps Zach Chappell finished in third advancing from his seventh place starting position. Whit Gastineau was fourth and Sellers dropped to fifth. 

Andrew Deal earned the York Plumbing Hard Charger award after coming from 20th to finish ninth.  


Ameri-Flex OCRS Results

Humboldt Speedway

May 17, 2019

Car count: 20

Drive Shafts, Inc. Heat 1 (8 Laps)

1, 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[5]. 2, 50Z-Zach Chappell[6]. 3, 5-Joe Bob Lee[2]. 4, 18J-Cody Jarvis[4]. 5, 62-James Shoun[1]. 6, 22T-Frank Taft[3]. 7, 1-Casey Buechler[7].

Bravado Wireless Heat 2 (8 Laps)

1, 14-Shane Sellers[1]. 2, 94L-Layne Himebaugh[3]. 3, 8-Alex Sewell[5]. 4, 10K-Kevin Brewer[4]. 5, 25-Kyle Admire[7]. 6, 11-Avery Goodman[2]. 7, 15D-Andrew Deal[6].

Car and Fleet Parts Heat 3 (8 Laps)

1, 2W-Whit Gastineau[2]. 2, 31-Casey Wills[1]. 3, 88-Terry Easum[6]. 4, 9-Kinzer Edwards[3]. 5, 15-Jase Randolph[5]. 6, 007-Michael Bookout[4].

Ameriflex Hose and Accessories A FEATURE  (30 Laps)

1, 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[2]. 2, 8-Alex Sewell[1]. 3, 50Z-Zach Chappell[7]. 4, 2W-Whit Gastineau[6]. 5, 14-Shane Sellers[3]. 6, 5-Joe Bob Lee[9]. 7, 88-Terry Easum[5]. 8, 9-Kinzer Edwards[12]. 9, 15D-Andrew Deal[20]. 10, 11-Avery Goodman[19]. 11, 15-Jase

Randolph[14]. 12, 10K-Kevin Brewer[11]. 13, 31-Casey Wills[8]. 14, 18J-Cody Jarvis[10]. 15, 22T-Frank Taft[17]. 16, 94L-Layne Himebaugh[4]. 17, 007-Michael Bookout[16]. 18, 62-James Shoun[15]. 19, 25-Kyle Admire[13]. 20, 1-Casey Buechler[18].

Lap Leaders: Alex Sewell 1-6, Shane Sellers 7-12, Sheldon Barksdale 13-30.

Margin of victory: 0.423 seconds.


Contingency Award Recipients:

Ameri-Flex Hose A Feature Winner: Sheldon Barksdale

Drive Shafts Inc. Heat Award Recipient: Sheldon Barksdale.

Bravado Wireless Heat Award Recipient: Shane Sellers.

Car & Fleet Heat Award Recipient: Whit Gastineau.

York Plumbing Hard Charger Award: Andrew Deal +11.

M&W Aluminum Hard Luck Award: Layne Himebaugh.

Amsoil High Point  Driver Award: Sheldon Barksdale.

Rod End Supply Recipients: Jase Randolph, Kevin Brewer, Casey Wills

Wesmar Racing Engines Recipient: Avery Goodman.